Changes and getting what you want

We are booking the ticket tomorrow morning and it’s going to be very cool.

Some changes were needed to our flight plans before we could book and then Jim gave us options! Options in our opinion are never good. It gave us far too much to think about when there was not a huge difference.

We had to change some dates as we knew that the US ESTA visa allowed 90 days in the country but thought that this would be reset by going to the Caribbean and Mexico.  But apparently, they don’t and we only have 90 days from entering Miami until we leave Hawaii.

The problem wasn’t that we really wanted to stay longer in America but that we didn’t want to get to New Zealand too early because it’s their winter then. The ideal time for us to get to New Zealand would be November but that would be too late for Australia etc. If everything goes according to our plans, then we are there in the middle of September now. It will still be cold but I’m hoping they will have an early spring this year.

In the end, we decided on extending our stay in Fiji and the Cook Islands. The plan was to get back to the UK just before Christmas so we have also extended Australia and Bali. I really don’t mind 😉

Jim gave us two options to choose from and we discussed back and forth. In the end, we choose flexibility over a cheaper option. Now we can change dates and locations without having to pay extra. Who knows we might want to stay longer.

You will find us here from May onwards :

Monday 8th May 2017 London Heathrow – Miami
Friday 12th May 2017 Miami – Puerto Rico
Saturday 13th May 2017 Caribbean Cruise
Sunday 21st May 2017 Puerto Rico – Miami
Monday 22nd May 2017 Miami – Cancun
Monday 5th June 2017 Cancun – Phoenix
Tuesday 4th July 2017 Los Angeles – Honolulu
Friday 4th August 2017 Honolulu – Nadi
Saturday 26th August 2017 Nadi – Auckland
Sunday 27th August 2017 Auckland – Rarotonga
Saturday 9th September 2017 Rarotonga – Auckland
Sunday 8th October 2017 Auckland – Melbourne
Wednesday 15th November 2017 Sydney – Denpasar
Saturday 25 th November 2017 Denpasar – Kuala Lumpur
Thursday 30th November 2017 Kuala Lumpur – Colombo
Thursday 14th December 2017 Colombo – Dubai
Tuesday 19th December 2017 Dubai – London Heathrow

We would be very grateful for any hints and tips on places to stay and see.

I’m so excited to see how Henry will find this whole experience. It might turn out that he will never travel again in his life. But I really hope this will give him a feeling that there are so much more to this world than our private little bubble we live in. I think it’s so important to experience new places, to see different cultures, diverse lives. There are so many ways of living that if you only see what you have you don’t know if you could live your life differently.

This won’t be Henrys first long haul trip.  As our friend’s wedding in Langkawi coincided with his first birthday.  Pictures below are from that trip.

Stephen and Henry on cable car in Langkawi

 

Henry sleeping on the beach

Advertisements

Leave a Reply